Deficit Commission Line-Up Completed

When House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) named her picks to sit on the president's National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform (or, just "the Deficit Commission" or "the Debt Commission"), she rounded out the 18-member slate. The panel will presumably begin work soon to hash out fiscal policies that will in theory lead to a reduction in the deficit, which are due by Dec. 1.

I'm not expecting the panel to actually produce recommendations, though. Fourteen of the 18 members must concur on its proposals. Republicans are simply obdurate when it comes to raising revenue (see, e.g., Rep. Paul Ryan's (R-WI) budget proposal). Democrats, on the other hand, are more amendable to both spending reductions (see, e.g., the president's budget proposal in which he proposes cuts to discretionary funding) and revenue increases.

Selections of President Obama

  • Erskine Bowles, a former chief of staff to President Bill Clinton, will serve as chair
  • former Sen. Alan Simpson, (R-WY), will serve as co-chair
  • David Cote, Honeywell International Inc. CEO
  • Alice Rivlin, former Congressional Budget Office Director
  • Andy Stern, Service Employees International Union President
  • Anne Fudge, former CEO of Young & Rubicam Brands

Selections of Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV)

  • Sen. Kent Conrad (D-ND), Senate Budget Chairman
  • Sen. Richard Durbin (D-IL), Senate Majority Whip
  • Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT), Senate Finance Committee Chair

Selections of Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

  • Sen. Judd Gregg (R-NH), Senate Budget Committee ranking member
  • Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  • Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Selections of House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

  • Rep. John Spratt (D-SC), House Budget Committee Chair,
  • Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Democratic Caucus Vice Chairman
  • Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Chief Deputy Majority Whip

Selections of House Minority Leader John Boehner (R-OH)

  • Rep. Dave Camp (R-MI), Ways and Means Committee ranking member
  • Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), House Budget Committee ranking member
  • Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
back to Blog